Yes the annual Top Ten competition is back and for the second year in a row, it is under new management!

After just one year in the role of Competitions Officer Hugh Darrington decided to step, passing the mantle to Ian Menage to run this year’s club competitions. Like last year, there will be just three, to encourage a greater response from club members, a tact that seems to have worked as there were 15 films submitted in 2017, although this sis till way down from previous years.

Remember that each film has a 20 minute time limit but can be on any subject and in any style. If you have a film from the past which has undergone a significant revamp (perhaps a new soundtrack, remixed sound, improved titling, tighter editing, extended or redacted cut etc. you are also welcome to re-submit these as your official entry.

And you can team up with your fellow club members if you need help on the technical or casting front, it will be the author of the script/concept who gets the entry credit. Couples can enter either individually or together.

Below are the names of the dates and participants of the three qualifying rounds:


ROUND ONE (To be held on July 10th)

Gordon Beales

Sam Brown

Barbara Darby

Malcolm & Kath Goodwin

Kuldip Kaur

Annabelle Lancaster

Walter McKenna

Peter Mitchell

Brian Pfeiffer

Mike Shaw

Bob Vine

Ron Williams


ROUND TWO (To be held on August 21st)

Hugh Darrington

John Alford

Charlie & Nellie Caseley

Colin Jones

Anna Littler

Ian Menage

Jane Oliver

Peggy Parmenter

Lee Relph

Trevor Rogers

Graham Sinden

Roger & Brenda Wheatley


ROUND THREE (To be held on October 16th)

John Bunce

Jo Coad

John & Ann Epton

Mike Graham

John & Sylvia Greengrass

David Laker

Jim Morton-Robertson

Jenny Tucker

Barbara Walker

Andy & Marian Watson


Remember, if you have a film ready before your designated round you are welcome to submit it early but please let us know, preferably on this website, ahead of the particular session you will be entering it. This also applies if you are unable to provide a film in time.

The final will take place on January 8th 2018 and the results will be revealed at the Oscars on March 19th 2019.

To see the results of last year’s competition click HERE


Good luck to all who enter and be sure to check the ongoing results on this site as soon as they are released.

One Reply to “TOP TEN COMPETITION 2018”

Comments are closed.