Ladles and Jellyspoons

It is that time of year again when we ask you to drag your best clobber from out of the mothballs, then put them on and bring yourselves down to the club meeting for the 2017 OVFM Oscars!

Every year we celebrate and reward the efforts of our club members with a small trinket or two, with club awards voted for by their peers and the Annual competition categories judged by an external panel.

This year we are indebted to members of Sutton Coalfield Movie Makers for giving up their time on our behalf to review and rate our films.

Hopefully our show will go without a hitch unlike the ersatz version the Americans put on recently. What a shambles. Fancy getting the Best Film award wrong. I waited all night for them to announce Meet Dexter and they not only gave it to La La Land but then realised they had stuffed that up and gave it to Moonlight instead. Tch!

As mentioned earlier this is a black tie affair so the more glam you look the better, but if you are feeling adventurous you can come in fancy dress to add a little levity to the proceedings. Scruffy people will be shown the door although I am sure they already know what it looks like anyway. And your partners are very welcome to join us too if you have one. If you haven’t, then don’t bring them.

We have many awards being contested. In the Annual Competition they are:


Ian Dunbar Cup (Best film)

Orpington Trophy (Best Film Runner Up)

Arthur Woolhead Trophy (Animation or Visual Effects)

Priory Trophy (Editing)

Vincent Pons Shield (Fiction)

Rene Morris Penguin Plate (Photography)

Heyfield Trophy (Sound)

Reg Lancaster Trophy (Funniest Film)

Alice Howe Trophy (Documentary)

Raasay Trophy (No special category)

Jubilee Shield (Film under five minutes)


The club awards are:


The 2016 Top Ten Competition

Kath Jones Cup

Vic Treen Cup

Mike Turner Plate

David Laker Latrine


Last year’s big winner was Barbara Walker whose film “Commute” earned her three awards, closely followed by John Bunce and Hugh Darrington with two wins each. Who will be the triumphant winner(s) this year?

Hope you will join us this Tuesday March 21st at the Barnard Room, St Augustine’s Church for the 2017 OVFM Oscars!!


Comments are closed.