The annual OVFM Oscars were held on Tuesday March 21st 2017, honouring and recognising the hard work and output of  club members over the past 12 months.

In case you  missed it or need a reminder here is the list of winners:



Ian Dunbar Cup (Best film) – Reaching For The Sky by Jane Oliver

Orpington Trophy (Best Film Runner Up) – Meet Dexter by Lee Relph

Arthur Woolhead Trophy (Animation or Visual Effects) – Heaven Or Hell by Hugh Darrington

Priory Trophy (Editing) – Meet Dexter by Lee Relph

Vincent Pons Shield (Fiction) – Meet Dexter by Lee Relph

Rene Morris Penguin Plate (Photography) – Dawlish Air Show by Jane Oliver

Heyfield Trophy (Sound) – The Quest by Colin Jones

Reg Lancaster Trophy (Funniest Film) – Meet Dexter by Lee Relph

Alice Howe Trophy (Documentary) – Reaching For The Sky by Jane Oliver

Raasay Trophy (No special category) – Moholo Animal Rehabilitation Centre by Brian Pfeiffer

Jubilee Shield (Film under five minutes) – 1940 Sherringham by Barbara Darby



The 2016 Top Ten Competition –

WINNER: Reconstruction Of H4 by Barbara Darby

RUNNER-UP: Meet Dexter by Lee Relph

Kath Jones Cup (Best joke Film) – Back Porch Revamp by John Bunce

Vic Treen Trophy (Best Film Cut To Music) – Ski Funday by Andy & Marian Watson

Mike Turner Plate (Best Film Under 1 Minute) – Tunnel Cleaner by Jane Oliver


Highly Commended Certificates

Tree Down by Jim Morton-Robertson

On A Roll by Ann & John Epton

Moholo Animal Rehabilitation Centre by Brian Pfeiffer

Commended Certificates

Hampden P1344 by Jim Morton-Robertson

An Historic Route by Pat Palmer


Congratulations to all the winners and big thank you to Brenda Wheatley, who has been our Competitions Officer for the past 12 years but has decided to step down from the role. If you think you can follow in Brenda’s footsteps then please contact Brenda for details and get your nomination form HERE, ahead of the AGM next month.