We have reached the third and final qualifying round for the TOP TEN 2018 competition. The ongoing results can be found HERE.

The Top Ten is open to everyone in OVFM to submit a film, no longer than 20 minutes on any subject, style or genre, which will be judged and graded by their peers. The ten films that have accrued the highest scores by the end of the five individual rounds will be entered into the final in January 2019 and the winner will be announced at the Oscars in March.

We had four entries submitted for round one last month so we are hoping that we can equal or perhaps top that number for this session. Also please note that the scoring system has changed and now ALL categories are scored out of 10 points.  

Here are the club members who have been selected at random to participate in this final round:


John Bunce

Jo Coad

John & Ann Epton

Mike Graham

David Laker

Jim Morton-Robertson

Jenny Tucker

Barbara Walker

Andy & Marian Watson

Maria Alexander


The following people missed their earlier rounds but have a final chance to enter a film in this session:


Gordon Beales

Kuldip Kaur

Annabelle Lancaster

Walter McKenna

Peter Mitchell

Brian Pfeiffer

Mike Shaw

Bob Vine

Ron Williams

John Alford

Charlie & Nellie Caseley

Colin Jones

Anna Littler

Ian Menage

Peggy Parmenter

Trevor Rogers

Roger & Brenda Wheatley

As always we ask you to PLEASE reply to this post in the comments/reply section below, if you have a film ready and letting us know the following information:


Run time

Format (DVD, Blu-ray, USB)

Picture ratio (4:3 or 16:9).


It is very important and helpful to know these things ahead of time to ensure we have the right equipment for playing your films and for planning the time allotment of the evening.  It’s a simple courtesy we are asking of you and it only takes a few seconds to comply.

And that is it. Join us on Tuesday for the final qualifying round of the 2018 Top Ten!

Thank you for reading and good luck to everyone who enters a film!


  1. The Top 20 competition for 2108 closes with four entries taking this year’s total to 14 – the second lowest total in the 8 years since I’ve been in the club.

    Kicking off the night was David Laker with “When Orpington Was Still A Village”, another instalment in his comparisons between Orpington today and Orpington 200 years ago. Next was “….104!” from Ian Menage, the last OVFM project to feature our much missed friend Freddy Beard.

    This was followed by “Walkers” by Barbara Walker, a tale with an important message for the young of today, featuring a brilliant script by a mystery writer…

    Finally, we saw another inventive curiosity from John Bunce in the form of “Dream Visitor”, about the perils of falling asleep while reading the VFM magazine!

    As far as the qualifying rounds go, that wraps things up for the Top 10 for this year, but the 10 films with the highest scores will compete again in the final in January to decide the winner, to be announced at the 2019 Oscars!

Comments are closed.