2015 OVFM Oscars – The Results!



Last night, March 17th, OVFM held their annual Oscars awards ceremony at the All Saints Church in Orpington. A capacity crowd filled another venue while some of the OVFM faithful showed up to receive their awards and see their peers be rewarded for their creativity and hard work over the past year.

As ever our Competitions Officer Brenda Wheatley put in another sterling effort in arranging a smoothly run night and we thank her and everyone else who helped out, including our esteemed chairman and MC for the evening, Simon “Snapper” Earwicker.

On to the awards, and while some winners were unable to collect their awards in person, those who did show up took “Selfie” photos via Simon’s camera which I am sure we will see in the website gallery soon.

So, to the winners and first the awards as judged by the members of OVFM:

Kath Jones Cup (Joke film under five minutes)–Winner: Par For The Course by John Bunce

Vic Treen Cup (Film set to music) – Winner: Building The Dream Boat by Mike Shaw


Mike Turner Plate (Film under sixty seconds) – Winner: Sam by Mike Shaw


The 2014 Top Ten Competition –

Runner Up: Steaming Back To Metroland by  Sam Brown

Winner: Illusions by Mike Shaw


We then moved onto the Annual Competition Awards as judged by Staines Video Makers.


Jubilee Shield (Film under five minutes) – Winner: Hahndorf by Jim Morton-Robertson


Raasay Trophy (No special category) – Winner: Celebrating 30 Years Of Care by Ann & John Epton


Alice Howe Trophy (Documentary) – Winner: Lakeside Weekend by Reg Lancaster


Reg Lancaster Trophy (Funniest Film) – Winner: Bad News For Mrs. Smudge by Hugh Darrington


Heyfield Trophy (Sound) – Winner: Census by Bob Vine


Rene Morris Penguin Plate (Photography) – Winner: Sunday Night In Central Park, New York by Jim Morton-Robertson


Vincent Pons Shield (Fiction) – Winner: Census by Bob Vine


Priory Trophy (Editing) – Winner: The Bells Of St. Barthomolew’s by Barbara Darby


Arthur Woolhead Trophy (Animation or Visual Effects) – Winner: The Gang Broke Up by Ann & John Epton


Orpington Trophy (Best Film Runner Up): Illusions by Mike Shaw


Ian Dunbar Cup (Best film) – Winner: The Bells Of St. Barthomolew’s by Barbara Darby


High Commendations:

Rounding The Horn by David Laker

Hamilton Landscapes by Mike & Jo Coad


Commendations: Valediction by Colin Jones & John Epton


So there we have it. Congratulations to all the winners and nominees and thanks to everyone who showed up last night!

Until we do it all again next year….

2 Replies to “2015 OVFM Oscars – The Results!”

  1. Bitterly disappointed that work wouldn’t allow me time off to attend last nights festivities. Got home at 8.30pm shattered. How fab though that my film won a couple of awards. Really pleased – put a lot of effort into ‘Census’ so very happy indeed; thank you and congratulations to all the other winners – well deserved. I hope this spurs us all on to make more films this year!

  2. Many thanks to all who entered their films into this years internal club competitions.
    Well done to all the winners.
    Sorry you couldn’t all win, but hope you enjoyed taking part.
    The Top Ten draw is on this web site. We hope everyone will try to enter a film in this competition.

Comments are closed.