After the glitz and glamour of the 2017 OVFM Oscars it is time to get serious again with the annual AGM.

This is the one night of the year where club members get to air their grievances, their concerns, their fears or ask that all important question they’ve been a bit shy about asking. Once the minutes from last year’s meeting have been approved and the annual reports have been read, we turn the floor over to YOU, so please don’t let this opportunity pass you by.

Also at the AGM we elect our Committee. Every year they work tirelessly behind the scenes to make sure there are the club keep running, projects are conceived, outings and events are organised and all of the perks and treats you get to enjoy on a regular basis are taken care of.

Every seat on the Committee is temporarily vacated – including the position of Chairman – so anyone can who has been nominated or has decided to stand can find themselves as the newest member. While we appreciate everything they do for us, like anything an injection of fresh blood can make all the difference, which is why this opportunity is there for the taking.

We already know that incumbent chairman Simon Earwicker will be stepping down from the position after four years in the role and Brenda Wheatley will be stepping down as Competitions Officer after 12 years. We thank them both for their hard work and contributions to the running of OVFM.

The club is also looking for a full time Press Officer which doesn’t have to be a Committee role making this open to anyone to fulfil. If you think you’d like to take up this position and help get the club notices, events and other stories into the local press, pubic forums and across social media and the Internet then please make your intention known at this meeting or speak to a Committee member.

However this means a changing of the guard and hopefully someone will have put themselves forward to fill these positions. Nominations forms were sent out with the Viewfinder and were available for download on this site so hopefully this process is already in motion but if not the final deadline is THIS FRIDAY MARCH 31st!!

A reminder of the current committee as it stands is as follows:


Chairman – Simon Earwicker (standing down)

Vice Chairman – Sam Brown

Treasurer – David Laker

Secretary – Freddy Beard

Competitions Officer – Brenda Wheatley (standing down)


Ordinary Members:

Reg Lancaster (Club President)

Annabelle Lancaster

Ian Menage

Andy Watson

Jane Oliver


And it is not just the Committee who can suggest ideas – this is YOUR club so YOUR ideas and suggestions are equally valid and welcome. The club needs films to survive and we thrive on having great ideas to make those films, so please have a think about ideas and themes for future project evenings or other club events.


To download the agenda in full for the meeting please click HERE


To download the minutes from the 2016 AGM please click HERE


Remember this is about your voice, your views, your club!

Thanks for reading and see you on Tuesday.