Every ship needs an engine to help drive it forward and for OVFM that would be the Committee – a select few who work diligently all year round to ensure the club has a purpose, a direction, and takes care of the administrative matters that keep OVFM alive. The Committee is also there to address any concerns members may have, be they personal matters or relating to the club itself.

Every club member no doubt has an opinion or idea as to how we could improve the club’s running, its fortunes, or has suggestions for projects, promotional ideas or other club related activities. The AGM is one way for people to put their ideas and opinions forward or, of course, committee members are always wiling to listen and put these proposals to the other committee members during the bi-monthly meetings for discussion.

At the most recent committee meeting two members announced their intentions to step down from their posts, those being Competitions officer Brenda Wheatly and OVFM Chairman Simon Earwicker. We are also in need of a Press Officer to help promote the club and its events to the local media and beyond. This doesn’t have to be a committee member so anyone is welcome to apply for this role.

Every year prior to the AGM a form is made available to club members – either with the Viewfinder or here on the website – with which the Committee members are voted in by YOU. ALL incumbent members are asked if they are willing to stand for re-election leaving every seat and position open – from chairman to treasurer to ordinary member – until the nominations and votes have been received.

Therefore this year’s AGM on April 4th will see the election of two new committee members in senior posts and possible ordinary members if anyone wishes to step up. To participate, simply fill in the form you received with the March edition of the Viewfinder or download it from HERE then find another club member to nominate you and get that nomination seconded by someone else. Submit your form to Freddy Beard by no later than Friday March 31st ahead of the AGM on the 4th where the final results will be revealed.

For the record the current Committee members who ARE standing for re-election are:


Sam Brown – Vice Chairman

Freddy Beard – Secretary

David Laker – Treasurer

Annabelle Lancaster – Ordinary Member

Reg Lancaster – Ordinary Member

Andy Watson – Ordinary Member

Ian Menage – Ordinary Member

Jane Oliver – Ordinary Member


Standing down and thus NOT seeking re-election are:


Simon Earwicker – Current Chairman

Brenda Wheatley – Competitions Officer


As you can see it is important that this year we do see a concerted interest from club members to step up and be counted, now that two vital roles are vacant. While we have a nominee for Chairman, further nominations or volunteers for a new Competitions Officer, as well as a Press Officer are very much welcomed.

Remember the Committee is not a self serving entity but a group of people striving to make OVFM a continued success for ALL of its members, which relies on a self-perpetuating source of energy to allow that to happen. So if YOU want to make a difference to the club then find someone to nominate you and have that seconded, or nominate and second someone else. It all helps.

If you have any queries or comments please reply to this post below or contact the committee and they’ll do their best to respond to them for you.

On behalf of the club we thank Simon and Brenda for their tireless efforts and contributions to the running of OVFM.

Thanks for reading and for your continued support of OVFM.



  1. Thanks for this explanation Lee, we need all members to read and understand that our Club has to be run by someone.
    Nothing just ‘happens’.

  2. i Have enjoyed being competitions organiser for about the last 12 years but now feel it is time for someone younger and more technically able to take over. I am happy to give the new person advice if they want it. They may have their own ideas how to run things which is ok.
    Thank you to all film makers who have supported the competitions.

Comments are closed.